top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly

Winter Comfort Food: Chili


Yesterday I had the pleasure of having lunch with some family that I have not seen in a LONG time, and since they are from the midwest, I of course had to treat them to some of the best and most authentic Mexican food in Southern California. Over lunch we were talking and they mentioned that it had been NEGATIVE degrees lately and they were talking about how "warm" it was that the high back home was supposed to be 34 degrees... That's FAHRENHEIT people... and as far as I'm concerned should NOT be a thing.

So I started looking at the weather map around the country and noticed that besides my lucky little bubble most of the country is undergoing quite the cold spell. I don't know about y'all but when it's really cold out, there is nothing better than tucking into a hearty bowl of chili with just the right amount of spice (and probably a very large piece of gluten-free cornbread..with lots of butter).


This recipe by NomNomPaleo.com is for her Ground Beef Chili made in an Instant Pot. You could also make it on a stovetop or slow cooker, and you could also sub out the ground beef for really any other kind of ground meat of your preference. I love this recipe for several reasons, most importantly because the flavor is on point and it is easy to make it a little spicier if that's how you like it. I also like it because if your cooker is big enough, it is VERY easy to double and you know how I feel about leftovers and meal prep!

Obviously there is no such thing as paleo CORNbread... BUT if you aren't adverse to corn and want a good gluten-free option, this recipe by My Gluten-Free Kitchen is really tasty and keeps well in the refrigerator (in tupperware- obviously). I like that it is a little bit sweeter, so it pairs well with chili with a bit of kick to it.

This year make a pact with yourself to fuel yourself properly but without sacrificing taste or flavor. You can eat satisfying, delicious meals while still taking care of yourself, and your loved ones. Yes, it might take a little education and a little practice working with recipes that you've never used before, but I promise that the long-term benefits will be well worth it.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page