top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly

Madras Style Coconut Curry

I have had this pretty great Madras style hot curry powder for freakin' ages but I've never actually made curry with it... I know... dumb right? SOOO I finally did it! And man oh man... what was I waiting for?!?!?

This is definitely a meal that is going in my comfort food stash. The coconut milk adds a creaminess that is soooo dang good. I can't wait to have this in winter when I'm all cozy in sweats and it's like 30 degrees outside. What I really like about this recipe is that you are fully in charge of how much heat you want. Like things mild? Take it easier on the curry powder! You like your eyes all teary? Be heavy handed! Also, if you don't have curry powder you can usually make it with things you probably have in your spice rack. Some of the spices commonly used are turmeric, cayenne pepper (or another hot chili powder), coriander, ginger, cumin, fennel, cinnamon, and pepper.


I also like this dish because you can load it with veggies and it doesn't feel like you are eating lots of veggies. I don't mind eating my veg, but sometimes there's only so much roasted veg one can handle, ya know? So you could add whatever you think sounds good. I added a bag of frozen stir fry veggies, I just made sure to cook them and drain off all the liquid before adding.


We ate this over cauli-rice and it was really good, but I definitely want to have it over rice sometime as well. The sauce is so good I just imagine eating the soaked rice at the bottom of the bowl and it makes my mouth water. The cilantro was good as garnish but it's definitely not necessary so if you don't have any on hand, don't sweat it.


You like curry dishes? You like healthy? Try this super easy recipe out!

Not organic... calm down

What you'll need:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

  • 1 medium onion, finely sliced

  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped

  • 2-3 tablespoons hot curry powder

  • 2 pounds of boneless chicken, diced (your choice on cut- we used thighs)

  • 1 14-ounce can unsweetened coconut milk

  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes (or you could dice fresh tomatoes)

  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • Optional: Extra veggies

  • Garnish: Chopped cilantro

Directions:


Heat olive oil in a decent sized pan over medium heat (I used my braiser).


Add onion and sauté until soft (about 5 minutes). Season onion with salt and pepper.


Add tomato paste, garlic, and curry powder and sauté for 2-3 minutes, then add the tomatoes (and additional veggies if desired) and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes.


Add chicken and then the coconut milk, stirring everything together. Bring to a simmer, lower the heat and cover. Cook covered for 15 minutes. Then uncover and cook for an additional 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked all the way thru (timing will vary depending on how small the pieces were diced).


Serve over rice (or cauli-rice!), top with cilantro and ENJOY! Let me know if you try it out!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page