top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly

Current Obsession - Carnitas!!!


So sometimes I am just looking for a way to eat as much guacamole as possible without it being weird so I start thinking of different things I can make. I make fajitas a lot, but was craving something different, so when my bestie passed along a recipe (recipe by NomNomPaleo - check out her website for SOOO many other awesome recipes) for the most BOMB carnitas I have ever had - I was saved! They are just a little tangy with the perfect amount of kick- I don't think I'll ever use a different recipe again.

This recipe is specifically for an Instant Pot, but could be made in any slow cooker or dutch oven also. I happen to have an Instant Pot so that's what I used. I LOVE having one of these babies because it means that I can decide that I want carnitas for dinner at 4 pm and still have them. Ummmm... WIN!

The best part of this recipe is that it's crazy easy. For me, the hardest part was getting the peel off the orange because I suck at using a peeler, so chances are good that this will be even easier for you than it was for me.

Here are the ingredients you'll need:

  • 3 pounds boneless pork shoulder roast

  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt, more to taste

  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin

  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

  • 1 teaspoons crushed dried oregano leaves, preferably Mexican

  • 1 medium orange, and if you don't have a juicer, about 1/4 cup pure orange juice

  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled

  • 1 large yellow onion, peeled and quartered

  • 1 dried bay leaf


First you'll want to cut your roast into two inch cubes and place in the cooker you are using. Cubing it makes it cook faster, so if you're feeling super lazy then you don't have to do this... but I would recommend it. Overall the flavors are better and more consistent throughout the meat, and you get to eat sooner... soooooo for me the choice was easy.

Then go ahead and sprinkle the salt, cumin, red pepper flakes, and oregano on top.

Now, use a vegetable peeler to take wide, long strips of zest off your orange. Try and not get too much of the white stuff because it tastes bitter and we don't want that. Try and get as much of the zest off the orange as possible and add to the top of the pot. Set aside the orange because we'll need it in a minute (unless you don't have a juicer and are using OJ. Then set aside to eat later- it might be bald but it's still delicious!).

Go ahead and add your quartered onion, garlic cloves, and bay leaf now too and mix it all together in the pot.

Now either juice your orange or add your OJ to the pot and mix again.

The mixture is now ready to be cooked! If you are using an instant pot, this will take about 35 minutes to cook. Make sure your venting is sealed and then once the time runs out let it cool naturally on the warm setting. OR if you are impatient (like me) turn the venting from sealed to open and you can literally eat in the next five minutes.

If you are doing this in a dutch oven or crockpot, this will probably take about 3-4 hours to cook on a high setting (375 degrees in the oven). I would recommend starting to check the meat about every 30 minutes after the two and a half hour mark to see how it's doing.


If you like your carnitas a little crispier, heat up some high temperature cooking fat (lard, ghee/butter, avocado oil, etc.) in a skillet and sauté on medium heat for a few minutes, stirring frequently to prevent it sticking to the pan.


As far as how to eat it? Whatever floats your boat. Tacos, salads, scrambles, by itself, on nachos (not the most healthy but DAYUM)... or however else sounds good! I love it over eggs with a little salsa and guacamole! It's a great substitute for other breakfast meats in the morning.

Try it out and let me know whatcha think - I highly doubt you will be disappointed with this bad boy.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page