top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly

Dinner in a Pinch


I do my best to meal prep because I am the WORST when it comes to making good food decisions when I am short on time. But occasionally (OFTEN) I am heading home from work and start thinking... "Crap... I don't have anything for dinner!" Knowing that if I even set foot in the door without the right groceries at home equals ordering pizza (to be delivered of course because once I'm home I cannot leave again...Really? Is that just me? You weirdos.), makes me immediately search out the nearest grocery store and swing into their lot.

This happened just earlier this week, and I decided to go with one of my FAVORITE quick and healthy recipes - "Spaghetti". See below for delicious-ness...

What you'll need:


One medium to large spaghetti squash

One jar organic marinara sauce (CHECK THE INGREDIENTS! No sugar should be listed)

One pound ground meat - your choice of protein. This week I did beef, but it could be turkey, chicken, bison, etc.

Optional: spinach, mushrooms, onions, other veggies that you like in marinara

Instructions:

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees.

Cut the spaghetti squash in half the long way.

Hollow out the seeds inside the squash.

Grease a baking sheet and place the spaghetti squash facedown on it and put in the oven for 20 minutes.

While that is cooking, get a large saute pan out on your stovetop and turn on medium heat.

Place the protein in the pan and using a spatula, break up the ground meat into small pieces and allow to cook all the way through.

If you do not want to add additional veggies, just turn the heat down to low and add the marinara sauce mixing it well with the meat. If you do want to add veggies, add to just the meat and allow to cook for 5-10 minutes (depending on what you add) and then add the marinara.

As you are finishing up your marinara your squash should almost be ready. Check the squash by poking the "meat" of the squash with a fork. If it is easily pierced, it is done and can be removed from the oven. If it does not give easily, put back in for another five minutes and repeat process until easily pierced.

To serve, use a fork to pull the "spaghetti" out of the squash. Place on a plate and top with marinara sauce. Feel free to garnish with a little parmesan cheese or red pepper flakes (or both!) and enjoy! Depending on the size of squash, this normally makes 4-5 servings.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page